ARCTIC EXECUTIVE STEERING COMMITTEE

Summary of Principals' Meeting October 9, 2024

Overview

On October 9, 2024, the Arctic Executive Steering Committee (AESC) held its tenth Principals' Meeting in the Biden-Harris Administration. Dr. Jane Lubchenco, Deputy Director for Climate and Environment in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), chaired the meeting, standing in for Dr. Arati Prabhakar. Monte Hawkins, Senior Director for Transborder at the National Security Council, represented the President's National Security Advisor, Jake Sullivan, who serves as AESC Vice Chair.

The meeting included:

- Opening remarks by Jane Lubchenco and Monte Hawkins
- Remarks by Mike Sfraga, Ambassador-at-Large for the Arctic Region
- Review of progress in implementation of the 2022 National Strategy for the Arctic Region
- Updates on the work of the Task Force on the Northern Bering Sea Climate Resilience Area
- Updates on the work of the Arctic Resilience Working Group

Background

President Obama created the AESC through Executive Order 13698 and directed it to

provide guidance to executive departments and agencies and enhance coordination of Federal Arctic policies across agencies and offices, and, where applicable, with State, local, and Alaska Native tribal governments and similar Alaska Native organizations, academic and research institutions, and the private and nonprofit sectors.